The VEIL

8 04 2009

One of the best skills you can have as a DIYer … is aknowledging when something is beyond your skills, something is best left to professionals, you wont be able to meet the quality you desire, or when you just don’t have the time for it!

I am pretty darn crafty, and sometimes straight up MacGyver like… and then there are times when I try to make my veil 3 times and fail miserably each time. πŸ™‚ hehe
Well, maybe not miserably, but it just wasn’t coming out right. I found lots of good birdcage veil tuts online, and yes they were easy, but for some reason I’m super picky about how it lays on me, and mine just weren’t meeting my standards.

So starts the search online for an affordable birdcage veil that I love. I quickly found the haute couture Laura veil at Castle Bride. Her name was even Laura! It was MEANT to be my veil!

Laura Veil

They make lots of lovely veils and accessories and whatnot. The problem? Waaaaaaay out of my price range. I mean by hundreds of dollars out of my price range. The solution? My dear friend ETSY! Since the veil I found is kind of uniquely shaped, I couldn’t find one just like it, so I contacted YJ Designs. She makes some of my faaavorite veils on etsy, and is uber talented, so I asked her to make it. She agreed to do it for $45! and even though she is out of *Australia* she responded super quickly, and had my veil out within a day or two! Shipping took a little bit because I’m a cheapie and chose the standard post shipping and she’s on the other side of the world from me. πŸ˜€ I started to worry a little bit because it was nearing the end of the time frame she told me it would be here, and then BOOM! Right on the day she said it would be here, it was. πŸ˜€ I hastily but carefully opened the little box and squealed with delight!

Just look at this little beauty!

veil1Seriously… I love this veil. It kinda sealed the deal of reality to me. When I put it on, I heard the wedding march, and suddenly missed Russell a bunch and had to go give him kisses. I can’t wait to marry this man!

Giving in to not being able to meet my own picky requirements with my veil, really turned out to be a positive experience for me. I’m glad I gave in and let someone else take care of it. One less thing for me to worry about, and a little more time for me to spend with the Mr. πŸ™‚

Have you had a DIY gone wrong turn out oh so right? πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

