The COUPLE

31 03 2009

 

Laura & Russell

Hi there! My name is Laura and this is going to be my wedding blog, so sit back, relax and join me in my bridely adventures into the mysterious land of MRSdom!

I believe I will start by telling you how Russell and I started.

I had just started my freshman year in college, and I was in an art history class, waiting for it to start and surfing the net on my laptop. Long story short… I was on a dating site. Honestly, I wasn’t really expecting anything, but I got an email saying that someone had viewed my profile, and wanted to know if we could exchange email addresses. I went on the site, checked out his profile, and I was pleasantly suprised. His interests were much different than the typical guys on there, and I was intrigued so I went ahead and gave him my email address.

Apparently he was online at the same time, he sent me an email pretty quickly. We decided that since we were both online, to exchange IM names. We started chatting… and didn’t stop. It was so weird because it was like we had known each other our whole lives, and talking to him was so easy. This was really weird for me because I didn’t really expect anything to become of a dating site. One of us suggested that we talk on the phone after we had been talking for hours and he gave me his number so I could block my number if I wanted to be extra careful. I called, we talked, we laughed well into the night, wrapping up with a decision to meet the next night for a movie. It truly felt like I had known him forever and the connection was instant.

On our first date, he was (and still is!) the perfect gentleman, opening doors, paid for dinner, the movie, was extremely well mannered. He was shy, sweet, sincere, a wonderful conversationalist, dorky in just the right way… I was HOOKED!!

That was four years ago… five by the time we’re married this October. Over the last few years, we have been through a LOT together. We’ve grown closer than close and became best friends. We’re hardcore film critics, we love politics and current events, we’re big into all types of music, we are passionate about art, videogames, japanese culture, and especially… each other! 🙂

He took me ring shopping at the end of June, and proposed November 30th, right after Thanksgiving. The rest is and will be history. 🙂

Did you meet your sweetie online? What made him stand out from the other fishies? More to come soon! -Laura


Actions

Information

9 responses

24 04 2009
Marissa

Aww! I love reading “how we met” stories! So sweet!

FI and I actually worked at the same place for a couple of years before beginning our relationship. Things finally got started for us when I joined a running group that he was a part of. I’d say his sweet/kind nature, sense of humor (and slight dorkiness!) are what first hooked me. :o)

4 05 2009
artsybride

Aww! Good for you two, that is so sweet! I too love finding out about how people met. Fate works in the neatest ways!

28 04 2009
lmariea

Cute photo!

4 05 2009
artsybride

Thank you! 🙂

28 04 2009
russellsreviews

what a lucky guy….

4 05 2009
artsybride

I am the lucky one. ❤

26 09 2014
gsa search engine ranker discount codes

Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.

I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a
look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast
your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using
WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent site!

15 02 2016
christine

There is definately a lot to learn about this topic.
I like all of the points you have made.

15 06 2016
nicerecipebook.com

If you want to grow your familiarity simply keep visiting this site and be updated with the latest news posted here.

Leave a comment